“the greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return”

Therefore, dear sir, love your solitude and bear with sweet-sounding lamentation the suffering it causes you…believe in a love that is being stored up for you like an inheritance and trust that in this love there is a strength and a blessing, out beyond which you do not have to step in order to go very far!
(“Letter 4,” Letters to a Young Poet, Ranier Maria Rilke, tr. by M.D. Herter Norton)

Yes, well, that’s all very well and good, but I don’t want to be solitary any longer.  I feel as though I’ve been solitary for nearly all of my almost 32 years on this green earth, and I’m tired of being solitary.  I’ve served my time in solitary–all those years when I was a child and my parents refused to acknowledge my voice; all those years in junior high and high school when I hid who I was because questioning wasn’t allowed; all those years when I was married and I was told time and again I didn’t matter.  But that’s all done.  I can come out of solitary now, okay?

~ by logosamorbos on April 12, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
